After their much-anticipated return with ‘The Frost’, The Pineapple Thief continue to tease their new album with second single ‘Every Trace Of Us’. The single is accompanied by a lyric video based on the artwork from the forthcoming album ‘It Leads To This’. Watch here


Bruce Soord: “The idea for this song came out of writing sessions I had with Gavin at his studio. Gavin played me this idea he had come up with and I immediately connected with it, straight away humming what would become the verse. I went into another room with my guitar to try out some chorus ideas while Gavin was in his studio playing out the middle section. It was one of those moments where everything came together so quickly. A lot of the guitar remains from that session, including all the lead riffs. Jon (bass) came up with the chorus bass melody, Beren Matthews, our touring guitarist, added some brilliant guitar work, before Steve (keyboards) added his icing on the cake.  The words came later.”


Musically, the track lifts the curtain a little more on what fans can expect from the band’s forthcoming album.


The Pineapple Thief revel in opposing forces. Muscle and fragility. Chaos and precision. Distorted introspection and warm, dreamlike expanse. Conceived in 1999 by Bruce Soord, the progressive quartet underwent a rebirth in 2017 with the arrival of Gavin Harrison (King Crimson, Porcupine Tree) on drums. Completed by bassist Jon Sykes and keyboardist Steve Kitch, they’ve honed a lean yet lush, quietly timeless sound that soars on It Leads To This.


It all feeds into It Leads To This. Comprising eight fat-free epics – all about five minutes long, mixing rock urgency with delicate atmospherics, pensive keys and captivating melodies – it finds Soord looking back and fearing for the world his children will inherit. His lyrics also drew from literature: accounts of Ancient Rome, John Williams’ classic Stoner and epistolary Augustus. All conveyed through Soord’s fragile yet penetrative tenor, nodding to storytellers like Nick Drake, Thom Yorke and Katatonia’s Jonas Renkse.

24 febr Melkweg te Amsterdam



It Leads To This tracklist:

  1. Put It Right [05:30]
  2. Rubicon [04:37]
  3. It Leads To This [04:43]
  4. The Frost [05:40]
  5. All That’s Left [04:26]
  6. Now It’s Yours [05:59]
  7. Every Trace Of Us [04:30]
  8. To Forget [05:20]




It Leads To This will be available in a multitude of formats that are as follows:



  • Limited Edition Deluxe 4 Disc set featuring:
    • DISC 1: CD Album
    • DISC 2: Bonus CD ‘Y Aqui Estamos’ – Alternate Versions
    • DISC 3: Blu-ray – It Leads To This + bonus album “Y Aqui Estamos” (reworkings of album session recordings): Dolby Atmos-DTS-HD MA 5.1-24/48 PCM Stereo mixes created by Bruce Soord
    • DISC 4: DVD – It Leads to This and Y Aqui Estamos: DTS 5.1-24/48 PCM Stereo
    • 52 page book


  • Limited edition brick red vinyl LP  (exclusive to The Pineapple Thief and Kscope stores)
  • Limited edition green vinyl LP (exclusive to worldwide independent record shops)
  • Limited edition cream vinyl LP  (exclusive to Germany & Austria)
  • Blu Ray – Includes “It Leads To This” and bonus album “Y Aqui Estamos” . All in hi-res dolby atmos, dts-hd 5.1 and stereo created by Bruce Soord
  • CD
  • LP
  • Digital & Dolby Atmos


Fans can pre-order the album here:




5 januari 2024
In dit bericht:
Translate »