Ahead of the release of their brand new album Leavin’ This Holler, 49 Winchester have shared an album highlight and fan favourite, “Tulsa”, today (27/6). It was one of the first songs written for Leavin’ This Holler and its chorus references both the Don Williams classic “Tulsa Time”, as well as the Kenny Rogers and The First Edition favourite “Tulsa Turnaround”.

“This song is a rock & roll’er with an interesting backstory” explains lead singer Isaac Gibson. “I wrote it on a frigid night in 2022, leaving a show at the Mercury Lounge in Tulsa. It was in the middle of a blizzard on the way to a run of shows through Texas. The interstate was covered in snow; we jack-knifed the van and trailer sideways on the road and it was just a sketchy situation altogether. My anxiety wasn’t helped by the fact that Oklahoma had recently legalized a plant we’ve been known to be fond of, and that’s ultimately where the song comes from. It’s one of those snapshots of a moment in time in my life, where I just put pen to paper to ease my mind.” 

Listen to “Tulsa” here.

Leavin’ This Holler is set to be released on August 2 via New West Records. The 10-song set was produced by the band and Stewart Myers and features appearances by the Czech National Symphony Orchestra, singer-songwriter Maggie Antone, fiddler Philip Bowen, and guitarist Cole Chafin.

The upcoming album is the highly anticipated follow up to their New West debut Fortune Favors the Bold. Met with overwhelming critical acclaim, Rolling Stone called them “Country Music’s Buzziest of Buzz Bands,” and also named it one of the “25 Best Country and Americana Albums of 2022.” Bandcamp named Fortune Favors the Bold one of the “Best Country Records of 2022,” as did No Depression, Holler, PopMatters, Whiskey Riff, WMOT, and more. The album quickly generated over 150 million global streams and the band also received a nomination for “Best Duo or Group” at last year’s Americana Music Awards.

Leavin’ This Holler will be available across digital platforms, compact disc, and numerous limited edition vinyl variants. The album is available for pre-order NOW via NEW WEST RECORDS.

Leavin’ This Holler Track Listing: 

1. Favor
2. Hillbilly Happy
3. Yearnin’ For You
4. Make It Count
5. Leavin’ This Holler
6. Fast Asleep
7. Tulsa
8. Rest of My Days
9. Traveling Band
10. Anchor

Hailing from Castlewood, Virginia (population: 1,122) in Southern Appalachia — a place where opportunity seldom knocks — 49 Winchester came to fruition when Gibson, his childhood best friend, Chase Chafin, and his hometown crony, guitarist Bus Shelton, decided to step off the front porch (on Winchester Street) and take their music to whatever stage would have them.

On the heels of supporting Tyler Childers on his recent US arena tour, the band launched their debut European headline tour, selling out rooms across the continent, followed by additional tour dates and numerous festival slots throughout the rest of the year including their Bonnaroo and CMA Fest debuts, as well as a 2-night stand at NYC’s Bowery Ballroom. And, in a highly-anticipated appearance, 49 Winchester will also be headlining the famed Bristol Rhythm & Roots Reunion in September — a homecoming festival of sorts for the band, who played some of its earliest gigs at the renowned gathering.

Captured in a handful of studios around the country whenever there was a rare moment between relentless touring schedules — the album has 49 Winchester’s signature sound of rollicking country and searing rock music, but with a matured approach this go-around. Leavin’ This Holler offers up a more focused sense of self — a new bountiful level of intent and purpose. Gibson says, “We wanted to explore every possible sound we could on this record. No stone left unturned sonically — we got it exactly where we wanted it.”

27 juni 2024
In dit bericht:
Translate »